Queens’ Honours for Australians & New Zealanders

John Richards, Goldacres Managing Director.

Leaders in the agricultural community have been recognised in the 2017 Queen’s Birthday 2017 Honours Lists in Australia and New Zealand. Sources: AFDJ eNews, Beef Central, New Zealand Herald


Among the recipients of the highest honours announced was economist Professor Ross Garnaut AO, who was named a companion (AC) in general division of the order of Australia for eminent service to the community as a leading international economist in the area of energy efficiency and climate change policy, to the development of Australia-Asia Pacific relations, and through contributions to social and political discourse.

Professor Garnaut received an AO in 1993 for his role in restructuring the Australian economy as Prime-Minister Bob Hawke’s senior economic adviser from 1983 to 1985.

Among many roles, he served as Australia’s Ambassador to China from 1985 to 1988; chairman of the Primary Industry Bank of Australia from 1989 to 1994 and chairman of the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research from 1994-2000.

He has led many high-level Government Reviews and Commissions, including the preparation of a Review of the Australian Wool Industry in 1993 and the Garnaut Climate Change Review in 2008.

Plant genomics pioneer, Emeritus Professor Geoff Fincher from the University of Adelaide, has been named an officer (AO) in the general division of the order of Australia for distinguished service to science, and to education, in the area of plant genomics, as an academic, researcher and administrator, through scientific advisory roles, and to international professional societies.

Animal Health Australia chair and former Cattle Council of Australia president Peter Milne was named as a member (AM) in the general division of the Order of Australia for significant service to primary industry, particularly to the livestock sector, to animal health and biosecurity programs, and to the community.

Beef exporter and former Australian Meat Industry Council president David Larkin has been named as a member (AM) in the general division of the Order of Australia for significant service to international business and commerce through leadership and innovation in the Australian beef export industry.

Australian Livestock Saleyards Association president Stuart McLean has been awarded a medal (OAM) of the order of Australia in the general division for service to the community, and to local government.

Goldacres Australia managing director John Richards from Lake Wendouree, Victoria, has been awarded a medal (OAM) of the order of Australia in the General Division for service to the community, and to the manufacturing sector.

Long serving Australian Country Women’s Association member Helen Wall has been awarded a medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the general division for service to women, and to the community.  

New Zealand

There were a number of Queen’s Birthday Honours that had an agricultural connection and it shows the significant contribution farmers and agribusiness continue to play in New Zealand.

Wendy McGowan: ONZM for services to rural women.

Nick Pyke: MNZM for services to the arable industry. Mr Pyke is Chief Executive at the Foundation For Arable Research (FAR).

Maxine Simmons: CNZM for services to science, particularly biotechnology. Ms Simmons has been a leader in scientific research and innovation for more than 35 years.

Doug Avery: MNZM for services to agriculture and mental health. Mr Avery successfully adopted land use techniques to drought proof his farm and has spoken to audiences around New Zealand, Australia and Argentina about his new farming systems that have provided a basis for sustainable environmental and financial growth.

Rebecca Keoghan: MNZM for services to business, particularly the dairy industry.

Peter MacGregorr: MNZM for services to Maori and agriculture

Dr Lesley Rhodes: CNZM for services to science and marine farming.

Hon Jim Anderton: CNZM for services as a Member of Parliament. From 2005 to 2008 Mr Anderton served as Minister of Agriculture, Minister for Biosecurity, Minister of Fisheries, Minister of Forestry.

Jamess Guilld: MNZM for services to the deer industry.

Alllan Scarlett: MNZM for services to local government and the dairy industry.  Davviid Finlay: QSM for services to irrigation and sport.